The Indian Seven Sister States’ Main Development Projects Since 2014

The development of the ‘7 Sister States’ has always been a matter of concern since the independence of our nation. As none of the previously formed government, be it the central government sitting in New Delhi or the state governments sitting in the Capitals of each of the 7 States, ever paid any attention towards the regional growth & progress. Politics has always been the top most priority concerning to these seven sister states and just making Chief Ministers from their political party in these states was the biggest concern of the oldest political party of India. Now, one can imagine the reason behind the regional backwardness in the seven sister states as the government, which sat in New Delhi for a relatively longer phase of time did no good for the region!

The 7 Sister States are also known as the ‘North Eastern Region’ of India and they consist of the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. Experts had always considered the North Eastern Region to be of high potential and of great value for the nation. Moreover, due to the rise in the Military tension between the Mighty Indian Armed Forces and the Expansionist Chinese PLA Forces at the Indo-Tibet Border in Arunachal Pradesh, it has become even more significant for India to pay attention in the North Eastern Regions. Fortunately, now almost around a decade ago, things started to change and change for good as the Modi Government, which took the office in 2014 knew the significance of the North East and took several appropriate steps for the growth & development of the region.

For the very first time in the Independent India, we have a responsible government who is taking all necessary steps to bring the North Eastern Region in coordination with the rest of India. Modi Government’s slogan of ‘Look East, Act East’ has been a sincere attempt by the central government sitting in New Delhi to join the Seven Sister States with the Mainland of India. Interestingly, it was none other than the current PM Shri Narendra Modi, who laid emphasis over the development in the North Eastern Region several times in his speeches & schemes that today has resulted in an unimaginable positive rise of the Seven Sisters States!

Ever since 2014, the Modi Government has implemented several development projects in the 7 Sister States, some of the major ones are –

North East Road Network Connectivity Improvement Project

This project is aimed at improving the condition of the National Highways in the NER and connecting the region to the rest of India.

Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana

This project aims to provide all-weather road connectivity to unconnected habitations in the region!

 North East Special Infrastructure Development Scheme

This project aims to accelerate the development of infrastructure in the region, including roads, bridges, airports, and railway lines.

North East Industrial and Investment Promotion Policy

This project aims to promote industrial development in the region by providing financial and other incentives to investors!

The Act East Policy

This policy aims to strengthen the economic and strategic ties between India and the countries of East and Southeast Asia and promote trade and investment in the North Eastern Region.

Also read: India’s Top Literary Agent

The Digital India Program

This program aims to connect all the states of the North East region to the National Optical Fibre Network (NOFN) and provide them with high-speed internet connectivity.

The Ayushman Bharat Scheme

This scheme aims to provide health insurance to the citizens of the North Eastern Region, with a special focus on the underprivileged and the rural population!

North East Region Community Resource Management Project

This project aims to promote sustainable development in the region by providing technical and financial assistance to local communities for the management of natural resources.


These are some of the major development projects that have been carried out in the Indian Seven Sister States under the Modi Government in the past few years. While some of these projects have been successfully completed, many others are still ongoing, and their impact is yet to be fully realized. Therefore, in the coming years, we the people are going to witness the some tremendous amount of contribution in the overall growth of the country from the 7 Sister States. In addition, it must also be noted that the Modi Government has taken several steps to ensure the security and the safety in the region too. Understanding the crisis over the bordering regions in Arunachal Pradesh, the Modi Government has given all possible aids to our Brave Armed Forces too!

Today, India is 100% capable of transferring all kinds of forces, troops, arms & ammunitions in the North East and for this incredible achievement, the central government deserves a salute from us, the citizens of India. Recently, the mighty Indian Armed showed their strength by successfully pushing back coward Chinese Troops in the Twang Region. This act of incredible bravery needs a special mention, as it is the will power of the government that gives our brave soldiers the boost to win over our the biggest of the army. I cannot stop myself from writing ‘Jai Hind’ in the end, which I hope that the readers too would chant, while reading this write-up.

Must read: Tips for Increasing Book Ratings

Written By NEEL PREET – Author of the Books, Voice From The East (2016); Journey With Time Place And Circumstances (2018) & Indian Defence Files (2021).

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *