The Lords of Wankhede: Tales Between Two Titles By R. Kaushik, W.V. Raman

In 1983, the prospect of a World Cup victory seemed like a distant dream. However, by 2011, it had transformed into an imperative goal. ‘The Lords of Wankhede’ meticulously traces the evolution of Indian cricket over the span of 28 years, encompassing the two monumental World Cup triumphs. Through the experienced eyes of a former Test cricketer with a four-decade-long association with the sport, and a seasoned cricket writer with three decades of experience, this book offers a unique perspective on the triumphs, challenges, and fluctuations that characterized Indian cricket’s captivating journey. It provides a revelatory insight for the younger generation, evokes a sense of nostalgia for those in their prime, and stands as a must-read for ardent cricket enthusiasts. This narrative uncovers the circumstances that propelled India into the echelons of cricketing greatness.

ICC World Cup 2023

About the authors – W.V. Raman is a former Indian cricketer who represented the country between 1988 and 1997, and played for Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket for more than 17 years. He coached several elite teams in the Ranji Trophy, as well as KKR and KXIP in the IPL, India A and India U-19. His last coaching assignment was with India women as the head coach. During his term, Team India won all the ODI series and reached the final of the T20 World Cup in Australia in February–March 2020. Raman’s first book, The Winning Sixer, which focussed on leadership lessons, was a runaway success. Raman created history by notching up the first ever ODI hundred by an Indian in South Africa during the 1992–93 series. His varied talents enabled him to contribute to the game he is passionate about, for which he was felicitated by the Sports Journalists Federation of India with an honorary membership. He is only the third Indian cricketer (after Sunil Gavaskar and Ravi Shastri) on whom that honour has been bestowed.

R. Kaushik is a cricket writer with 30 years’ experience. Formerly the executive editor of Wisden India, he is now a freelance writer who works out of Bengaluru. The co-author of V.V.S. Laxman’s award-winning autobiography 281 and Beyond, Kaushik has also penned India’s 71-Year Test: The Journey to Triumph in Australia, a coffee-table book supported by the Bradman Museum, on India’s first series triumph Down Under in 2018–19. Kaushik is also the co-author of G.R. Visvanath’s autobiography Wrist Assured and R. Sridhar’s memoir Coaching Beyond. He has reported on more than 100 Test matches involving India and been at every 50-over World Cup since 1996. He has the distinction of covering several key moments in the history of Indian cricket, including the 2007 World T20 triumph in South Africa, the rise of the Test team to the No. 1 ranking in 2009 and much-awaited success in the 2011 World Cup at home.

CATEGORY – Non-Fiction
PUBLISHER – Rupapublications
PRICE – 395

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *